Significant Songs in my Life

I love music. I know a lot of people do and say that, but I love the way it can bring you back to a specific memory or feeling. It can nurse your heartache, amplify your joy or intensify your rage when you just need to let it all out. It makes long drives and traffic bearable, and sometimes something to look forward to if you’ve made a new playlist.

I’m obsessed with playlists and have one for just about anything. I have one for when I’m feeling sentimental, one for when boys are being stupid, one to amp me up for a workout, one to bring me back to the 90’s and many, many more. Music means a lot to me and there are seven songs that always bring tears to my eyes because they mean that much.

First off, I have a few songs that remind me of my husband and how amazingly happy he makes me.

The first is “Bless the Broken Road” by the Rascal Flatts. To me, it says everything about when I first realized he was the one for me. The guy I had dated before my husband was not great for me. I would have done anything for him, and he just didn’t return that at all. It took me a long time (about 9 years on and off) to realize that he wasn’t right at all. “Bless the Broken Road” describes that journey of going through some not so great times to get to where you’re meant to be.

The second song is “A Thousand Years” by Christina Perri. I love the Twilight movies. I know they’re cheesy, but I’m a big fan and don’t really care that they’re so cheesy. “A Thousand Years” is a song about a bride walking down the aisle and I actually had this song played as I walked down the aisle. It’s just one of those songs that brings me back to my wedding day, walking down the aisle to marry the man that I love.

0428_11210467_IMG_1333The third song is our wedding song, “The Way You Look Tonight” by Frank Sinatra. Obviously, I think about our first dance as husband and wife. It’s just so meaningful in that respect. I also love the words in the song. It reminds me of a line from “Father of the Bride” when Steve Martin says, “I knew I’d never be able to remember what Nina wore that day. But I also knew I’d never forget the way she looked.” Sure, my husband should remember what I wore because there about a million photos, but I think that sentiment is true. He probably doesn’t know every detail of my dress like I do, but I know he remembers the way I looked.

The other four songs always make me think of my parents when I hear them.

Two songs remind me of my Dad: “Isn’t She Lovely” by Stevie 0531_11210467_IMG_1425Wonder and “My Wish” by the Rascal Flatts. He requested “Isn’t She Lovely” the day I was born, so I always have a special place in my heart for that song. “My Wish” was our Father/Daughter dance at my wedding. I had always thought we’d dance to “Isn’t She Lovely”, but he had heard “My Wish” one day after I’d been engaged and just knew that was the song for us to dance to.

0251_11210467_IMG_8329The two songs that remind me of my Mom are “Mama’s Song” by Carrie Underwood and “The Best Day” by Taylor Swift. “Mama’s Song” is very special for me because I knew she was so worried about my previous boyfriend and if I’d actually find a man that would treat me the way I should be treated and love me as much as I loved him. Luckily, I did find him and my Mom knows how well he treats me and how much he loves me. That song is all about reassuring a mother that the daughter knows she’s going to be taken care of and the mother doesn’t need to worry anymore. Just perfect! “The Best Day” reminds me of growing up with my Mom and little memories of days where we didn’t do anything extra special, but being with her (and my Dad) made them special. This song just describes the way I feel about my childhood with my parents better than I could ever explain myself.

So there they are, the songs that mean the most to me and make me tear up every time I hear them. Does music ever have that effect on you? Do you ever hear a song that just describes everything you feel so perfectly?

Leave a Reply

