The One

Have you met your soulmate or “the one”? Was there one moment specifically when you just knew, or was it the culmination of your entire relationship that made you realize you didn’t want to live without them?

411446_686086989430_362735107_o

I had one moment when it really hit me that my husband was the one. On my way home tonight, I was reminded of that moment when “Like I’m Gonna Lose You” came on the radio. There is one part of the song specifically:

I found myself dreaming
In silver and gold
Like a scene from a movie
That every broken heart knows we were walking on moonlight
And you pulled me close
Split second and you disappeared and then I was all alone

I woke up in tears
With you by my side
A breath of relief
And I realized
No, we’re not promised tomorrow

When Ben and I had been dating 2 months or so, I was sleeping over his apartment and had an awful dream. I dreamt that he had been shot, died and then my family told me that I’d just have to go back to my ex. When I woke up and saw that he was next to me and ok, I just started sobbing. That was one of the worst nightmares I have ever had. The thought of losing him, even that early in our relationship, was so horrible. I knew then that I didn’t want to live my life without him. We ended up moving in together after dating for 4 months and the rest is history.

How did you know your partner was the one for you?

Leave a Reply

