New Outlook

Every day, I find myself looking on Facebook or Yahoo for a few minutes to clear my mind and take a quick break from work. I need these mental breaks to keep my mind from overloading. However, lately I find it really upsetting every time I do so. I think it’s the new outlook you getย as a parent.

I’ll be scrolling through the top stories on Yahoo, and then I see it, the awful story about a little baby dying after being left in a car, or some horrible person beating their child, or the countless other horrific stories centered around a child being hurt in some way. I see these stories and I instantly think of Jackson and want to just put him in a bubble so nothing bad can ever happen to him. I also get teary eyed because the thought of something awful happening to a child is, honestly, unbearable to think of.ย Even when it comes to movies, I don’t want to watch anything that might have a child being hurt.

Does anyone else feel this way? Sometimes I feel like I’m a little crazy for getting so emotional about these news stories, but I can’t handle them anymore. Before having Jackson, these stories would upset me, but not to the level that they do now. I have a feeling I’m not the only parent who feels this way.

Thankfully, I haven’t had to experience any of the heartbreak that some people have had to face with their children. I pray to God that I never have to either, or anyone else for that matter. It’s every parent’s greatest fear that something happens to their child and I feel so deeply for any parent who has gone through something. I can’t even imagine the heartache and grief they must feel.

Sorry for the super depressing post, but I just had to get it out…

Leave a Reply

