One Year Ago…

I can’t believe Jackson is turning 1 tomorrow! Everyone tells you that time flies by, especially when you have children. I believed it, but then time went even faster than I thought it would. One year ago today, our beautiful son decided he was ready to make an appearance very unexpectedly.

My original due date was December 5th, my shower was scheduled for mid November and we hadn’t done or bought much to get ready for Jackson’s arrival. I had my 34 week appointment on Friday, October 24th, and the doctor said everything looked fine and they’d see me in 2 weeks. My husband and I even planned to pack the hospital bag, finish painting furniture and do a dry run to the hospital the coming week. However, nothing went according to plan.

33 Weeks, October 20th

33 Weeks, October 20th

Saturday, October 25th, 2014 I woke up around 8AM to my water breaking. I was really shocked, freaked out, confused and unsure of what to do. I yelled out to my husband and told him that I thought my water had broke and and he jumped out of bed. I immediately called the hospital, very nervously, to see what I should do. They told us to come to the hospital so they could check everything out. We quickly grabbed a few things (my bathrobe, slippers, Kindle, phone charger) and got into the car. We didn’t actually think anything was going to happen. We were very much in denial.

On the way to the hospital, I could still feel Jackson moving, so that was a huge relief. I began calling my parents and family to let them know we were on our way to the hospital, but of course no one as answering! That’s always the way isn’t it? When you actually need people to answer their phones, that happens to be the one time they don’t. After about 45 minutes, my family called back and I let them know my water had broken and we were on our way to the hospital. My Mom wasn’t very good at keeping me calm though, as she kept repeating “This isn’t good” over and over. After we hung up, my parents immediately left their house to get to the hospital as well.

We arrived at the hospital by 9:30AM. It took me a few minutes to get out of the car thanks to the whole water breaking process. Just as an FYI, it doesn’t come out all at once, it comes out over a long period of time, which is horribly embarrassing. We got checked in and I was hooked up to some monitors to make sure Jackson was doing ok and thankfully he was.

The doctor checked me out and they put a monitor on me so they could keep a close eye on Jackson. I started having contractions around 10:30AM and was given a little bit of medicine to help things along. As the day went on, my husband and I just hung out, relaxed and visited with my family once they had arrived.

My contractions progressed really well. Around 2:30AM on Sunday, I was ready for an epidural. My pain was about a 6 or 7 out of 10, and I was all set with it getting worse. The epidural helped a bunch and let me sleep a little bit.

20141025_190925

Throughout the morning, I quickly progressed, going from 3 cm to 10 cm in 2 hours, and was ready to push by 7AM. It took 5 pushes and Jackson was out. He was 5 lbs. 2 oz. and 17 in. of awesomeness. My husband and I got to hold him and it was one of the best moments of our lives.

10013606_772694417484_5618817226925302903_n

Sadly, we had to go home without Jackson. Being 6 weeks early, his lungs weren’t quite strong enough for him to come home yet. He spent 2 weeks in the NICU and they were a long 2 weeks. Almost every day I’d spend the day pumping at home and my husband would work a full day. When he got home, we drove an hour to the hospital, spent about 3 or 4 hours there and then drove the hour home, sadly leaving Jackson behind each time. Thankfully he was getting stronger and healthier every day.

10426723_772556563744_7209901446681467558_n

On November 7th, we were finally able to take him home. It was so exciting to be able to have him at home with us and not see him all hooked up to tubes and wires.

10398667_774426187004_6455271913263358575_n

Now, our little guy is turning 1. He’s growing up so fast and I plan to make sure I enjoy every second of it!

Leave a Reply

